skip to Main Content
Trustees and staff

The Trustee is the Secretary of the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action. Management of the Trust is delegated to a Board of Managing Trustees.

Professor Ros Gleadow
PhD, MSc, BSc(Hons)
Appointed 2018; Chairperson 2023 –

Ros Gleadow is a plant biologist at Monash University where she leads the Plant Ecophysiology group. Her research focuses on the impacts of climate change on plant composition and food security.

Ros leads ARC, industry and philanthropic projects with environmental and agricultural scientists and health professionals in Australia and overseas.

Ros is President of the Global Plant Council and has served on several other national science advisory committees and boards. Ros is a Past-President of the Australian Society of Plant Scientists.

Ros is an accomplished science communicator and educator, pioneering the use of multimedia and blended learning in the teaching of Biology in Australia.

Professor Pauline Ladiges AO FAA
PhD, BSc(Hons)
Appointed 2011;

Professor Pauline Ladiges is a botanist, well known internationally for her research on the phylogeny and biogeography of eucalypts. She is a past Head of the School of Botany at the University of Melbourne where she is currently a Professorial Fellow in the School of BioSciences.

Pauline is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and recipient of the Royal Society of Victoria Medal. She has co-authored and co-edited three award-winning biology textbooks.

She has served on Boards and Councils including the Australian Academy of Science, Royal Botanic Gardens of Victoria, University of Melbourne Botany Foundation, Herman Slade Foundation Research Committee and Royal Society of Victoria Council.

Pauline was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2002 and in 2009 was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of her contribution to the advancement of botanical science and research.

Chris Lloyd
Appointed 2013

Chris Lloyd has extensive strategic and operational leadership experience in large public, listed, and not-for-profit companies. He has held roles as Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary in education, retail, health, technology and finance, both in Australia and internationally.

Chris is Business Manager at Camberwell Grammar School.

He has served as a Director for Korowa Anglican Girls’ School and Reconnexion Inc., and as a State Councillor for Chartered Secretaries Australia and The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.

Sebastian Chapman
LLB(Hons), BSc
Appointed 2013

Sebastian Chapman is the Trustee’s nominee. He is the Executive Director of Waste and Recycling in Victoria’s Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA). He leads a team committed to building Victoria’s circular economy, through the development and implementation of Victoria’s action plan, Recycling Victoria: A new economy.

Sebastian joined the Waste and Recycling Division in April 2019, after five years as a Director in the Land Management Division of DELWP (now DEECA), focusing on governance and Traditional Owner land management. His extensive work for the Victorian Government includes an Executive Lead role in Recycling Markets, Director of Governance and Investment Strategy for Catchments and Biodiversity, and eight years’ experience in the Department of the Premier and Cabinet working on environmental, infrastructure, transport and economic policy.

Prior to working in government, he practised civil litigation in Melbourne and criminal law in Edinburgh, and has degrees in Law (Hons) and Science from the University of Melbourne.

Robyn Trethowan
Appointed 2022

Over a 20-year career at the University of Melbourne, Robyn Trethowan held various roles including Director of the Office of the Dean of Science, Manager of Community Partnerships and Executive Officer for the Botany Foundation.

Robyn is a skilled and respectful communicator with considerable experience in program implementation and governance practices.

Robyn was the immediate past CEO of Eucalypt Australia.

Robyn has a deep love for the Australian bush.

Samuel Marwood
BASc (Env. Science)
Appointed 2022

Sam Marwood is the CEO of Odonata, a biodiversity-focused business incubator. He also co-founded and manages two social enterprises which support biodiversity and good land management: Edge Pledge and Cultivate Farms.

Sam also holds two other nature-based Board roles.

Sam worked as a senior policy officer for the Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment from 2005 to 2016.

Sam is currently based in rural Victoria and is passionate about connecting people to the land and environment.


Linda Baird
BEc (Acc), Grad Dip (Applied Fin)
Chief Executive Officer

Linda joined the Trust as CEO in February 2020.  Linda is an accountant by background and has been working with the Trust since June 2014 in an accounting capacity.   Linda has extensive experience in large corporate, fast growing and socially aware entrepreneurial enterprises, and consulting to small/medium enterprises and not-for-profits.

Linda is a passionate traveller, who loves cycling, hiking, skiing and scouting.  She is enjoying learning about all things eucalypt.

Back To Top